NEW MRTW CIRCUIT FOR CALIPER, CALI-SIG, DUETTA (ALL), DIVA M

Discuss anything about Apogees

Moderator: Graz

NEW MRTW CIRCUIT FOR CALIPER, CALI-SIG, DUETTA (ALL), DIVA M

Postby Graz on Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:08 am

This came about from a sincere hatred for the Caliper (original) MRTW unit as it employs a finicky, difficult and variable MRTW ribbon return system that not only degrades over time, but is variable in humidity, and affects long term crossover response stability. I have been doing these Caliper ribbon units for nearly 12 years and have to say I really dislike the original design, as a quarter turn on a clamp screw can kill the actual ribbons mercilessly!!

I developed a new interface for these about 5 years ago to solve this problem in the Calipers, and it actually;-

1) brings their sound quality up to beyond a Caliper Signature

2) Allows for assisted shaping of their upper frequency

3) Allows a lesser priced (shorter) Caliper Signature actual ribbon unit to be used

4) makes their measured parameters accurate to <0.03 of an ohm typically

5) Increases their life and stability

6) Allows for easier future MRTW ribbon replacements, without the stress of the original circuit system -
VERY user friendly for subsequent replacements.

7) decreases electrical degradation, and seems humidity independent

8) Decreases the chance of ribbon fractures at the clamps

like all "magic bullets" it's not a cheap system. It uses the finest quality components to not only lift the original design but take it to previously inconceivable levels of quality, letting the KLM5 ribbon do it's work unhampered by multiple and variable pressure contacts.

Installers are aware of this modification for the Caliper, and a couple have probed over time to see if I would supply this kit in a form that would suit the Duetta's (all), Caliper Signature and Diva mid-range.